New publication

Ke’s paper entitled “Multifunctional Conjugated Ligand Engineering for Stable and Efficient Perovskite Solar Cells” has been published in Advanced Materials. Read the story here.

We report a novel multifunctional semiconducting organic ammonium cationic interface modifier inserted between the light-harvesting perovskite film and the hole-transporting layer. It is shown that the conjugated cations can directly extract holes from perovskite efficiently, and simultaneously reduce interface non-radiative recombination. Together with improved energy level alignment and the stabilized interface in the device, a triple-cation mixed-halide medium-bandgap solar cell with an excellent power conversion efficiency of 22.06% (improved from 19.94%) and suppressed ion migration and halide phase segregation, which lead to a long-term operational stability, is demonstrated.

New publication

Yao’s perspective entitled “Organic semiconductor-incorporated two-dimensional halide perovskites” has been published in National Science Review. Read the story here.

In this perspective article, we defined OSiP: Organic Semiconductor-incorporated Halide Perovskites; and discussed recent progress toward this exciting new direction concisely.

Visiting student

The group welcomes a visiting undergraduate student, Martin Gomez Dominguez, from Universidad de los Andes of Colombia. Martin will stay for the summer and work on halide perovskite solar cells. Welcome to Purdue!

SURF student

The group welcomes Joseph Farrell, a undergrad researcher from school of mechanical engineering of Purdue University joining us as a SURF recipient! Joe will work with on halide perovskite transistors and solar cells starting from the summer. Welcome to the group!

New Student

The group welcomes a new graduate student Dharini Varadharajan. Dharini got her BS in Chemical Engineering from Anna University in 2020. She will be co-advised by Prof. Boudouris and Prof. Dou and she will work on organic radical-perovskite hybrid materials and optoelectronic devices. Welcome to the group!

New Funding

The group is selected for an award by Department of Energy, Solar Energy Technologies Office (SETO), aiming at developing stable perovskite materials, solar cells and mini-modules. This is a joint effort with Prof. Brett Savoie (simulation) and Prof. Jianguo Mei (manufacturing). DOE news release can be found here. Big congratulations!

New Publication

Kang and Linrui’s work on Lead-free organic-perovskite hybrid quantum well LEDs has been published in ACS Nano. Congratulations! Read the story here.

We report Sn(II)-based organic–perovskite HQWs employing molecularly tailored organic semiconducting barrier layers for efficient and stable LEDs. Collaborating with Libai Huang group, we demonstrate the energy transfer from organic barrier to inorganic perovskite emitter occurs faster than the intramolecular charge transfer in the organic layer. Incorporating a bulky small bandgap organic barrier in the HQW, charge transport is enhanced and ion migration is greatly suppressed. We demonstrate a HQW-LED device with pure red emission, a maximum luminance of 3466 cd m–2, a peak external quantum efficiency up to 3.33%, and an operational stability of over 150 h, which are significantly better than previously reported lead-free perovskite LEDs.